One Step at a Time

So, something I’ve noticed is how overwhelming it can seem to “go green.” There are all these eco-warrior, crunchy, granola, types out there that are doing such an amazing job living off-grid, reducing their footprint, and going green. It can be really intimidating! Personally, when I started thinking about making greener choices I had a really hard time deciding where to start.I chose to start with recycling, way back in the 7th grade, and that was an easy solution to my problem. Now, I live in a community where the trash company told my family they recycle but told everyone else they don’t so we don’t really know and now we don’t sort most of our trash. At university, I recycle everything I can and encourage my roommates to do that same. But where do I go from here?

I decided to start switching out the products I use; like shampoo, body soap, shaving cream, deodorant, toothpaste, and even floss. That was a fairly easy switch, I just had to do a little research about what to avoid and what to look for in products. I have not started making my own products yet but someday I hope too.

Okay, so I recycle, I use reusable or glass bottles only, and my personal care products are becoming more natural. What now? I am glad I got past the start and pushed through the overwhelming beginning. I just watched a BuzzFeed video about going trash free for 30 Days and one line at the very end stood out to me.

“you don’t have to give up everything, but start with one thing.”

This means everything to me. Going green should not translate as “get rid of everything and stop enjoying life’s luxuries.” It should mean that you take it one step at a time, starting with just one thing and then it will grow into something bigger. Maybe your one thing is switching to reusable water bottles or cooking a meal one night instead of ordering take out. Maybe it’s getting solar panels or collecting rain water and using it in your garden. We all have a learning curve, we are all different and should not be expected to progress at the same pace. My point is though, that we should all start figuring out out “one thing” and implementing the change. We are guests on this planet and our time is growing limited if we don’t make some changes.

Take it one step at a time!

 

~Sam

One thought on “One Step at a Time

Leave a Reply

