No More Plastic Bottles

About three weeks ago I was in class eating breakfast from the little cafe in the building. I got a muffin and an apple juice. I looked at the small plastic bottle and, as I have done many times before, felt guilty about it. It’s so easy to grab the disposable bottle when I’m on the go, especially if I don’t have my reusable water bottle with me. My logic is that “it’s fine, I’ll recycle it.” That excuse no longer seemed like a good enough one. So, on a Wednesday morning while sitting in class, I decided to ban plastic bottles from my life.

I did not cut out glass bottles, just the plastic ones, maybe someday I will but right now I’m taking it one step at a time. I didn’t want to be part of the supply and demand that made the “need” for so much plastic waste. It’s been a few weeks since I made this decision and I have used a plastic bottle only one time, if even that. I carry my reusable bottle around and if i dont have that and I need a drink I’ll make sure it’s a glass bottle. I reuse the glass bottles as water bottles a lot of the time, not that I use that many of those either but at least I’m not chucking it in the garbage right away. 

I really don’t feel like I’m missing out on anything by not using plastic bottles. Why do I need them? Why does anybody? My teeth and the rest of my body probably thank me for cutting back on all the sugary drinks that come in plastic bottles at the very least.

This might not seem like a huge step, but it is a step. I have tried to do this a few times before and never kept up with it so I am pretty proud of myself for sticking to it. Everyone starts somewhere I guess!

Happy Sunday

~Sam

Leave a Reply

