I Have No Idea What I’m Doing

Today I woke up and decided to start reading the book sleeping naked is green by Vanessa Farquharson (nothing is capitalized on the cover, I am not just forgetting to capitalize book titles). It was given to me by a friend who thought I might like it, and she was right. Seven pages into the book and already I am laughing and enjoying it. It actually gave me the idea to make this blog.

This is a VERY spur of the moment decision that I might live to regret, but for now, I will try and keep it up and learn how to properly blog about things as I go. I am not a writer and I do not have great grammar or spelling so I apologize in advance for any errors: I really am trying my best.

Throw it back to middle school when I went to my principal asking to change from plastic wear to utensils made of corn for the school cafeteria. Nothing became of it but I like to think it put ideas into his head. In high school, all I tried to do is recycle more and be a good person. In my first year of college, I encouraged my two roommates to recycle along with me. My second year of college I joined the Environmental Club and was promoted to an executive board position almost immediately because of the lack of members. I worked with the sustainability office a lot that year. This year, my third year of college, I have had no time for the club (junior year is no joke) so it is nonexistent. It didn’t do much anyway.

This past summer I began the switch to living a greener life. The big switch? Chemical free  deodorant. Whoa. I know, hold me back. I have been using a variety of toothpastes for years that are more eco-friendly than others (Earthpaste, Toms, something else I can’t remember) so this is not my first switch, just the first one that I count. I ordered the first deodorant off Etsy (I can give you the name if you’d like) that I really liked and it seemed to work. I switched to Tom’s of Maine though due to the fact that I reacted weirdly to a natural shaving cream or soap that i was using (I have not figured out which yet). Tom’s is cruelty-free, vegan, has no artificial flavors/colors/preservatives, is made is sustainable practices, and a somewhat recyclable container. I saw somewhat because I truly don’t know if I can recycle it. I really like this deodorant, the downside being that I do smell a little funky sometimes by the end of the day. Don’t we all though?

Jumping forward to today, I started the book mentioned above and just thought to myself “what am I waiting for? Lets do this Sam.” Maybe this blog is a mistake, maybe it isn’t. All I know is that I want to keep a permanent thing to document my changing lifestyle.

As you can see, I have no idea what I’m doing right now. I intend to learn though! Small changes.

~Sam

Leave a Reply

